top of page

What I Learned at Appalachian State

Four years have flown by and I find myself looking at the world with a somewhat different set of eyes than when I first began class here. I really hate how just when I feel like I'm getting settled in a place I have to pack up and leave.

I can't say that I didnt learn much though. I learned quite a bit. Frankly, I'm still sruggling with time management skills, seeing how this blog is a day late and I'm not going to recieve credit for it no matter how well it's written. Oops.

So overall, here are the top three things I learned at Appalachain State University.

1. DISCIPLINE IS IMPORTANT

This one is difficult. It required breaking bad habits and forming good ones - neither of which comes easy. Discipline means setting aside time for self-improvement. This means setting certain hours to work/study by so you're not rushing at the last minute (something that the record implies I will probably struggle with until my dying day), or goign by a workout regimin or diet plan. That's another thing - the cheapest, easiest food can be the worst stuff for you. Take of that what you will.

2. CONNECTIONS MATTER

Because of my connections I have been to some great events and met some great people I may have otherwise never had the pleaseure of knowing. Cast a wide net.

3. IT"S OKAY TO FEEL LOST

I've never known what I really want to do for my career. I've lerned that a lot of people feel the same way as I do. That was reassuring. I've met a number of people older than me whose live have travelled very oddly shaped roads, and they seem to be doing just fine. But a bright future is not guaranteed. It is liberating to know that your future is not set in stone, but it is daunting to realize the shape of your future rests squarely on your shoulders with a little support from random chance.

The future lies ahead. I'll guess I'll see you all there.


Featured Review
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page